Reading the green
Guys Who Play Golf For A Living, Places To Play Golf

Muirfield Looks Like A Beast

I spent a fair amount of time in front of the telly this weekend, as afternoon temperatures close to a hundred made it difficult to do much of anything outside during the day. The Memorial has always been one of my favorite events of the season.

I’ve always enjoyed watching this course, and this weekend was no different as the course appeared to be in absolute pristine condition, but I was struck this weekend at how difficult it appears to be. Huge sand traps, sneaky creeks that wander in and out of the fairway, and deep ravines between sections of fairway on the longer holes. I know the pros didn’t exactly struggle this weekend, with many scores in the double digits under par, but I think they got really lucky with the conditions.

I just felt like if I was to play here and didn’t have my game completely in order I would score very badly and I would lose a lot of balls in the process. It feels like, well, a US Open course, and I would have to imagine it’s a great tune-up to our championship in a few weeks, including ridiculously fast but very true greens.

Keep’em in the short stuff.

About golferinkilt

Creative golfing and creative writing

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

